*Advice Alert: The best way to properly store photos to last a lifetime. . . and a house fire.

For as long as I can remember the images of my past were presented in front of me in a beautiful photo album. Gorgeous, high priced, leather bound covers that rival the beauty of the photos inside. I assumed since everyone I know stored them this way it must be the best way to preserve our photos, right? I was stunned to find out that all of my family memories were not being properly stored. Shelly not only explained to me that cardboard boxes we’re the easiest way to store (and look at) all my photos but it was also the safest way to store them.  For years she urged me to remove my images from behind harmful plastics and simply place them in boxes. Really inexpensive, good looking photo boxes. It wasn’t until her own house fire in January of this year that I truly learned the lesson she had been trying to teach me. As the many, many, many, many friends she has gathered to replace everything she had lost (and she lost everything) an astonishing moment happened. A dear police officer friend appeared at her daughter’s door with two soaking wet, half frozen (it was only 19 degrees the night of the fire) cardboard photo boxes. I was amazed, EVERY photo from her children’s lives were saved. Now given there were some extreme circumstances that helped save those photos had they been stored in regular albums the heat from the fire would have individually melted every photo to it’s cover. So the bottom line of this post: Shelly’s best photo storage advice is get some $4 photo boxes from Hobby Lobby and save yourself some serious heartache!

 

Don’t worry I’m not going to take all this time to talk about a photographer and not showcase some more of her work. Her are a few of my favorite random shots. I hope you enjoy them as well.

 

Enjoy 🙂

 

Leave a comment

Leave a comment